Today: June 26, 2024 5:48 am

Why Only 6 Clubs Are Allowed To Wear A UCL Winners Badge

The UEFA Champions League is one of the most prestigious tournaments in the history of club football. A team winning the UEFA Champions League is a dream come true both for the players and the club that won the trophy.

The competition has a total of 23 clubs left the trophy which was formerly known as the ‘European Cup’, but out of the 23 teams, only 6 are allowed to wear the UEFA Champions League winner badge. Why is that the case? sit tight and keep reading till the end as we tell you the only 6 teams to have the honor of wearing the winner’s badge and the reasons why only those 6 teams are allowed to wear the badge by UEFA.

For a team to wear the special badge of the UEFA Champions League, clubs must certify two rules, which are;

1. The club must have won at least 5 Champions League titles in the history of the club.

2. The club have 3 UEFA Champions League titles in a row.

Taking into account the above rules, only 6 teams are bestowed the honor to wear the ‘winner special badge’ by UEFA. Here is a list of the 6 teams below.

1. Real Madrid: (14 titles)

Real Madrid are the team that holds the record for the most victories in the UEFA Champions League, they have won the competition fourteen times, including the inaugural edition of the competition.

Real Madrid have also won the title for 3 straight years on 2 different occasions ( from 1956 to 1960 and from 2016 to 2018) making them the first team on the list of football clubs with the special privilege of wearing the ‘winner badge’.

2. AC Milan: (7 titles)

The Italian club is the second on the list of clubs with this special privilege in the UEFA Champions League.

Ac Milan winning their 5th title in the competition made them the 2nd team to have that privilege and they are the only team from the Italian Serie A that have that privilege.

3. FC Bayern Munich: ( 6 titles )

FC Bayern Munich have won the UEFA Champions League 6 different times and they have also won it for three years in a row from 1974 to 1976.

FC Bayern Munich are the only German side to have the privilege of wearing the special winners’ badge.

YOU MIGHT ALSO WANT TO READ: Why Only 5 Clubs Have Ever Been Allowed To Keep The Original UCL Trophy – Eva Footy

4. Liverpool ( 6 titles )

Liverpool football club are the only English side to have the privilege of wearing the UEFA Champions League special winners badge.

Liverpool won the UEFA Champions League in 1977, 1978, 1981, 1984, 2005, and 2019 to get the honor to wear the winners’ badge.

5. FC Barcelona: ( 5 titles )

Barcelona are the second Spanish side to have the privilege of wearing a UEFA Champions League winners badge.

The Catalan won the UEFA Champions League in 1992, 2006, 2009, 2011, and 2015 to attain that feat in football.

6. Ajax: ( 4 titles )

Ajax have won the European Cup which is presently known as the UEFA Champions League for 4 times, and they are one of 4 clubs in the history of the competition that have won the competition for 3 consecutively years.

They won the European Cup three times in a row, from 1971 to 1973 to join Real Madrid, Ac Milan, Bayern Munich, Barca, and Liverpool as the only teams in the history of football to be allowed to wear the UEFA Champions ‘special badge’.

Presently, we will have to wait for a long time before another club join this list of club with these exclusive right in the UCL, as there is no other team apart from Ajax with 4 titles.

Manchester United and Inter have both won just 3 titles, while Benfica, FC Porto Juventus, and Nottingham have won 2 in their history.

5.00 avg. rating (92% score) - 1 vote

Leave a Reply